New Purchase Opinion

My wife are new to kayaking and we want to Kayak on lakes and calm water only and looking for a stable (best for the buck) kayak, smaller size, 9 - 10 feet. Need opinion on the following as we want to buy this weekend because of free tax weekend.

Swifty by Perception

Manatee by Perception

Blast by Victory

Otter Old Towne

About the same
Choose the one that has the best seat, and has foot braces. Also, if any of them come with a hatch, that’s a plus. All a good, stable, first boats. They are easy to cartop and get on the water, and nice for lakes and slow moving rivers. They are a bit slow, and if you get hooked on kayaking, you’re going to want a narrower, longer boat in about a year. But I still have my Old Town Otters, use them sometimes on narrow shallow rivers, and also use them to introduce people to kayaking.

check out the reviews yet?
I’m a beginner as well and also only want to kayak on flat water. Have you looked at the reviews yet? There are lots on the Swifty and the Old Town Otter. I’m not sure about your other 2 choices. I have friends who enjoy their Otter for themselves and for their teenage kids for just flat water use on the lake where their family camp is located. I know one other person who uses his Otter on a slow moving river and loves it. He takes it when he wants to paddle solo, otherwise he uses a tandem kakak for himself and his wife.

Good luck with your decision.

~Trish

Reviews
I have read the reviews on all of them and believe I have ruled out the Blast for lack of a good padded seat and possibly no foot peddles. The Otter is $349 but I can purchase the Swifty for $384.99 (including paddles & life jacket) at REI. In Mass this weekend, we have tax free. The Manatee at LLBean is $399 (including paddles & cover)…but taxes to be added.

I agree with the assessment above which said i should have a comfy seat and peddles, all of these have no storage hole so that option is out.

Dry Storage and Bulkheads