New to Canoes, need advice

Hello All,

I’m new here. I’m new to canoes. I have fishing Kayaks. My current ones are 12ft Ascend Kayaks. But they’re 80+ pounds each. I’m getting older and I just can’t lift 2 of them up on my F250. I will sometimes pull a travel trailer and the Kayaks go on a rack on the bed and extend over the cab.

My plan is to ditch the Kayaks and get ONE canoe that my wife and I can paddle around in on lazy rivers and small lakes/ponds. No white water or serious big water. I want to rig it out with a 12v battery and trolling motor. SO I’m looking at the 12-15ft range. This gets me into another issue. Old Town canoes are pretty much the only thing I have real access to around there (I’m in WVa). But they’re all average between 80-120lb. I’m willing to spend a little and have looked online at Esquif and Sportpal. But I’m not hip on the aluminum thing. So I’m leaning more towards the Esquif Mallard or Mallard XL. Anyone have any suggestions? Ideas on how to miracle a canoe up on top of an F250?

I’d you are willing to spend a couple grand you can get ttandems as light as 30 lbs. But lightweight and a trolling motor don’t really go together…

I am picking up a Sacandaga from Slipstream in a week or two. 14’ tandem, carbon/Kevlar and it will be right about 30 lbs. I think it was somewhere around 2500

Swift, wenonah, Northstar, and others all make very, very light boats as well

1 Like

Other than loading onto a rack on a F250 the Esquifs probably fit your needs pretty well. Longer canoes are a bit easier to load by lifting one end onto the rack first and then lifting the other end than shorter (12’) canoes. You might consider rigging a side mount for the trolling motor on a more standard cone like a 16’ Prospector design (Northstar, Swift, Wenonah, etc.). Back around 1980 a friend rigged one onto a Mad River Explorer & that worked pretty well.