New to kayaking and looking for a good beginners oar

Im looking for an oar that is light yet sturdy. I would like it to be a bevertail blade, Because we are not going out on the river and just out on some calm lakes. My price range is from $20-$40 i looked myself but as im brand new to this i have no idea the quality. Any suggestions?

First off, let’s get the terminology straight: kayaks and canoes use paddles, not oars. Oars are a single-bladed shaft that fits into a fixed-in-place oarlock attached to a boat that is rowed by sitting backwards and pulling on both oars at once, like a racing scull or Adirondack guide boat or a row boat.

Second, “beavertail” is used to describe the blade shape of some canoe paddle models. Good kayak paddles don’t use a beavertail shape. Some ultra-cheap crappy plastic and aluminum ones have a similar beavertail shape but they are not efficient and miserable to use, heavy and clunky. Proper kayak paddles have an assymetric shape because they are placed in the water at a sharper angle than a canoe paddle). One exception is Greenland paddles which are long and narrow, but surprisingly efficient and light. Many people make their own Greenland paddles out of wood – lots of instructions for them on line if you want a cheap way to get a good paddle. I prefer Greenland paddles myself and use them all the time in calm lakes and rivers. Not sold in stores though.

Third, you are not going to find a light but efficient kayak paddle for from $20 to $40 unless you luck out at a garage sale and find somebody dumping a good one for peanuts.

Honestly, for the use you are describing, you would probably be happiest with medium to small area narrow bladed paddle with a fiberglass or glass/carbon composite shaft. Cannon, Aquabound and Werner all make models that would work for you between $100 and $150. The Werner Skagit at $130 (From REI) is a good choice.