New to Kayaking - Need Info

I’d like to start kayaking on the local rivers in Texas.

I have several years of canoe experience but none in kayaks.

1st question, what is the sitting position in a Kayak ?

I have one knee which does not bend all the way back.

2nd question, what is a good entry level used kayak to purchase.

3rd question, like most other activities there are additional items that you need to purchase to be done correctly, give me the short list of must haves.

4th questions, how much should I be prepared to spend to get into my first used kayak and gear ?

Thanks

Jack

On the knee issue, you should be able
to get into even whitewater kayaks, with their smallish cockpit, without having a problem with a knee that doesn’t flex all the way.

I guess you might have difficulty kneeling in a canoe.

Start familiarizing yourself with the used kayak market, because you may not want to lay out list price and then find you’ve bought the wrong boat. This board has a pretty good classified listing of used craft, often with pictures so you know what is being offered.

Some Answers;
1. I have bone on bone in one knee, and am a expert at getting into a kayak with a knee that won’t bend too far. -Stand beside the yak, in the water, facing forward, with the bad knee closest to the yak. Now pick up your bad leg and put it in the cockpit just in front of the seat. Now put each hand on the coaming sides toward the back, and as you do it, slide your straightened leg down into the kayak and plunk your butt on the seat. Naturally you will have to bend the knee of your good leg which is outside the yak and it combined with your two hands will be your balance. After all that, Just bend the other one and bring it into the yak.

2. a decent entry level used kayak would be a Perception Carolina, or equal, but it is very hard to describe one for you since you didn’t give any of your statistics.