New to kayaking

Hello everyone,

I would like to get in to kayaking and have been doing some research before purchasing a kayak. Problem is, I don’t exactly know what I’m looking for so was looking for some advice. I’d be paddling mainly on flat water and slow rivers. I’m 5’ 10", 160 lbs (if that matters in terms of kayak selection). Any suggestions on kayak brands, size, style would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

jdamin

Demo boats
before buying. There’s time before the season ends.

Where in MD are you? There may be some outfitters that folks here can recommend to visit.

Need more info ?
that is like asking: " I am a new driver, what car should I get ?"

1. What is your price range?
  2. Do you want a short fat yak, or a long skinny sea kayak.

3 do you want it for fishing, touring, day trips, or multiday camping trips.

Your best bet is to get to some place where you can rent some or demo some

jack L

If you can’t find a demo event might
consider a days rental at a helpful large outfitter on the water who will let you try a variety of boats for your days rental. Also consider joining a local paddling club like the Baltimore Canoe Club if you are in that area of MD. They may have loaners or members with boats they would share. Both of these schemes worked very well for my wife and I before we bought our first boat. Also local outfitters may be selling off/renewing their fleets in the fall. We got a near perfect boat for 1/2 retail from a rental fleet. Just thoughts. R

More thoughts

– Last Updated: Sep-06-11 10:16 AM EST –

The reason you are not getting an answer about what boat to buy is that so many people have found, like us, that the first boat was just that. It was a stepping stone to what we really needed/wanted.