New to me Pygmy Coho, few concerns

Hello, I am new to Kayaking, I have just bought my first stitch and glue kayak. It’s a 15.5” Pygmy Coho. I have a few questions I hope someone can answer for me.
The previous owner, was in the process of refinishing it, he had sanded it and started epoxying it. I am a little concerned with what I see in a few areas.
The bottom that been re-epoxied you can see the mesh of the fiberglass, and there is a few spots that may be old injuries. I’ll add photos.
Looking for advice on what to repair and how to finish it correctly.
Thank you !

I built a Pygmy Coho around 1997. They are around 17 feet 8 inches long. Unless the dimensions have changed.

It is no big deal to see some cloth showing. For a keel line that has had some abrasion, I would get some good marine epoxy and add some cloth. It is possible to buy fiberglass tape in any width you want like say 3 inches. If the boat has been sanded add a layer of marine epoxy on the whole boat. Once it sets up you can wipe it down to remove the amine blush. Then a couple of coats of marine varnish to resist UV rays from the sun. Uncovered epoxy will degrade in ultra-violet light.

I painted the hull of my kayak bright yellow which is the best color for visibility at sea. I left the deck varnished. Good luck.

They are great boats, but there is no room for a dog and a Coleman stove, so I sold mine and went back to canoes.

1 Like

Sorry I am new to Kayaking, this was what the previous owner said it was, he said there was a tag inside I will look for it. I added some photos, I am limited to one each time, due to being new :slight_smile:

What would you wipe it down with to remove the blemishes.