New to paddling. A lot of questions.

-- Last Updated: Jun-27-09 6:32 PM EST --

Im new to paddling. From Cocoa Beach Fl. Im looking to buy my first kayak. Recreational use. Will be paddling in wide open slow river with little traffic. Whats the best kayak to use???
What do i look for when buying a used kayak???
Will be paddling alone. Is this ok???
Do I have to worry about gators bothering me???

Any other advice for a newbie would be appreciated. Thanks
Also if anyone knows of any paddling clubs around the Cocoa Beach area.

Cocoa Beach
I used to spend a lot of time on the Banana and Indian rivers when I lived in the area. The gators never bothered me, but I’d try not to swim or spearfish with them nearby.

SINK or SOT wouldn’t matter much, but I would go for a touring length.

You might want to check this place out:

http://www.cocoabeachkayaking.com/

do I
need to use sunscreen???

=:-0)

How deep is the water???

go take some lessons and it will all make sense.

steve

advice

– Last Updated: Jun-28-09 11:59 AM EST –

I started out on a friends Wilderness Pungo 120 which has a huge cockpit and is ultra stable. My first boat was a wilderness tsunami 125 (I love the wilderness phase 3 seats) and I now paddle a tsunami 165, all of which are SINKs. Before I bought any of them I checked with a local outfitter/outdoor store to see if they had any "try before you buy" days. Typically they host these events at ponds or lakes in the spring/summer. They bring all different models and that's were you can match yourself with the best boat and talk to other kayakers.

What was mentioned earlier about lessons is right too. If you get serious in to paddling, and get used to using the incorrect stroke on longer trips you'll end up tiring yourself out.