New to Paddling Moving Water

Hello folks, I’m a newbie here, and new to padding moving water, having made my first trip a few days ago. I have some experience paddling on lakes, though. I own an OT Camper and use it on Minneapolis area lakes.

My question is this: I rented a canoe this past weekend and canoed a section of the Root River in SE MN. During the 16 mile trip, I occasionally ran into skinny water and banged bottom. Not hard, I certainly did zero damage to the rental Alumicraft canoe. But are the occasional bangs on my OT going to be troublesome? Are occasional bangs and bumps even “normal”, or was I being careless? With still water paddling I’ve always been careful about not hitting bottom, not running the canoe up onto gravel beaches, etc. I don’t really have a “guage” on what is normal during the course of a day on moving water. Any input would be most welcome. Thanks!

Occasionaly hitting bottom
is a fact of life on most “pool and drop” type rivers. A royalex boat like your Camper can handle occasional bumps just fine. BUT, if you are constantly paddling shallow rivers with lots of sharp rocks sticking up like we do here in Texas or Oklahoma, you may want to consider protecting your boat with skid plates. Just depends on how much bottom scraping you expect to do.

Old Town
I’ve owned a OT Discovery, I think it was 17’+, and I belive it was made of Royalex, as your Camper may be.

This goes back a couple of decades, but the damn thing was TUFF! I don’t think your going to hurt this boat.

My brother and I landed ours on a mid stream boulder, keel facing downstream, water pouring in so fast you could scarcely move in knee deep water.

Took six of us to get the boat off the rock, and it did not break it’s back. I’ve lost a fiberglass canoe in a heartbeat this way.