New to paddling, need help!

First just need to say hello. Been looking around for a long time and this site seems to be one of the better ones.

I have wanted to get more into the outdoors for years now. As a small child my parents took me to the lake on their boat and I have always been drawn more to the mystique of rivers. now that I have graduated college and got a job I really want to find a nice canoe or kayak. Before I go about buying anything I will certainly go to an outfitter once or twice to rent one for an overnight trip and see how I like it (difference between canoe or kayak).

Seems for me a canoe is more appropriate because it will be easier to get my girlfriend or buddies to get in a canoe and paddle together rather than each having our own kayak.

Now on to the real question!

I have looked and looked for a good site but none seem to really help me out from the COMPLETE beginner I am. My dream is to get to the point where I can go on a two or 3 day trip down a river, camp out on the banks at night. For starters I don’t imagine doing anything over a class III rapid.

What are some good boats in the more affordable price range (preferably under 700ish - used can be an option for sure) that can offer a nice fun, easy ride down rivers?

thanks in advance. Really hoping to make this a life long passion.

hello

– Last Updated: Feb-05-11 5:14 PM EST –

Both canoes and kayaks are great paddle craft and you should try each to see which you prefer. Both have advantages and disadvantages relative to the other.

Kayaks have gained in popularity relative to canoes in the last few decades. I think part of this is due to a relative decline in the popularity of tandem paddling (two people in a boat) and a decline in canoe camping opportunities. I do believe that kayaking is somewhat more intuitive for the beginner. There are fewer strokes to learn, they are symmetrical from side to side, and it is easier to make the boat go straight.