New to this forum and kayaking

Hello my name is James and I’m new to kayaking. I recently bought an aspire 105 and would love to learn more about kayaking itself.
I live in Vancouver WA and have been here all my life so I know alot of the rivers and lakes.
Currently I don’t know anyone here thats into the sport, so hopefully I might be able to find people who’d be looking for someone to kayak with. I recently took a small course just to learn the basics because I felt it might be a good idea. Thanks for having me, I look forward to learning much more!

It is a rec kayak so most here will advise picking your waters carefully and not venturing greater distances from shore than you feel comfortable swimming the boat in especially if alone. It has some stern floatation with the hatch area and we have a similar rec kayak and I added floatation to the bow by inserting a yoga ball up there and blowing it up in place. It conformed nicely to the shape and is held in well by the dash. I picked one that wasn’t so large it interfered with legroom. You can also buy flotation bags made to fit in that are wedge shape.

I also like a painter line on the bow that can be used for a lot of things one being an aid in swimming the boat in if needed. It can be coiled and kept under the bow bungee. When it is swamped it will be very hard to move in the water. So a bailer or a hand bilge pump are nice to have along with a good PFD and whistle.

If your area is anything like around here most of the areas that see a lot of rec kayaks hardly no one wears a PFD. Don’t follow the crowd. Lastly it is a real temptation in early spring when the air temp gets nice to get out on the water before the water is really warm enough. Again around here they come out without proper cold water gear and you will see people not knowing the risk they are taking.

Welcome to the group and be safe and have fun.

1 Like