Newb with an early Dancer model needs refitting and maintenance advice

Hi I new to both the site and to paddling, I am just starting out (uk midlands) had a few lessons and have been given a very old but watertight Dancer. I have zero experience with the maintenance and repair of kayaks other than what I read on sites like this. So I turn to you now for the answers I cannot find regarding my (new to me) Dancer.

1. The centre support columns (the original white, not sure are the a type of Styrofoam?) are crystallising and flaky, I’ve seen threads where people have suggested replacing them with the modern micro foam I’ve found a site willing to shape them to the desired kayak shape and post them out (not cheaply but as i’d rather not mess anything up cheaper than buying a new boat) but wouldn’t that take away the safety of the support columns purpose? What would you suggest?
    Can the original columns be lacquered or treated to prevent further degradation or is it possible to replace them, if so who sells that type of foam, is there anything within the foam? google is not my friend on this.
  2. The Dancer has an inner skin for want of a better way to explain it, a moulded plastic insert on the underside just in front of the cockpit, should this be water tight? it is intended to aid floatation? There seems to be some sort of black grease sealing it, or maybe it’s years of grime oozing out of it?? I ask not only out of curiosity but because a. it reduces the slide in space of the already pretty tight cockpit, and B. I am going to want to be able to apply some rigging to the boat for carrying stuff the centre column will prevent me from stowing, do I need to ensure I avoid that area? Can it be removed and either permanently or just for cleaning, then replaced?