newbee kayak suggestion

Hello all,

I am new to kayaking and I would like to know if there are any kayaks available that serves multiple purposes.

I live on the southeast coast of Georgia along the marshes and rivers and ocean. I would like to kayak for fun trips and for fishing.

from what I have read a fishing kayak needs to be more stable but are thoose kayaks also good for longer trips??

Any advise welcome

Ron

Where you paddle
Are you talking about paddling offshore or inland on flat water? Those are two different criteria for what you need to be able to handle as well as the boat. Not the same.

inland
I was not planning kayaking/fishing off shore. More in the marsh and rivers.

Ron

if you’re fishing
a Sit on Top might be best. There’s no reason you can’t put some miles on in the right sit-on-top.

Similar to bicycle question

– Last Updated: Jan-27-14 4:02 PM EST –

Some spots need a Fat Tire bike
http://surlybikes.com/bikes/pugsley

-Wouldn't want to do repeated 100 mile concrete tour
on those tires and that bike geometry.

What is an ultra-stable kayak on the water
simply won't slice nicely and efficiently
for longer distance touring and expeditions.

You may enjoy something like the 18 ft long Cobra Expedition
http://www.cobrakayaks.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Cobra-Cruising-range-specs-.jpg

sit on top
Thanks for the replies, have to do some research in the sit on top ones!!!

I weigh about 175lbs, does that matter choosing a kayak??

Ron

maybe
There are kayaks that can do multiple things, but they are usually good at none or just one and sub-optimal at the others. But sub-optimal can be fine.

You might want to check out an article in California Kayaker Magazine Spring 2013 issue (#10) on basic types of kayaks. Can be read online for free at http://www.calpaddlermag.com/magazine.html.