newbie- buying a greenland style kayak

I’m pretty new to kayaking but really want to go all in on it as a sport. I like the idea of getting something of high quality and used, rather than lesser quality new&shiny. I see some pretty fun looking boats on craigslist and in other places of the greenland variety, that look like great deals. But in descriptions of these boats you often see them referred to as ‘great boats for experienced paddlers’ and I don’t know that I quite fit that description yet, although that’s totally where I’d like to get with whatever boat I buy. What kind of trouble would I be getting myself into with one of these boats? Is it just a matter of a steeper initial learning curve?

possible outcomes

– Last Updated: Oct-06-15 6:29 AM EST –

As with any type or style of watercraft, drowning is worst type of trouble. I would encourage taking some classes and/or attending a Greenland event for the benefit of first hand exposure to both kayaks and skills. This will greatly increase your vocabulary and exposure to what defines your understanding of "Greenland". And to test fit you to appropriate sized boat(s). Having an idea of what you would like to accomplish with boat will help too. Exclusively rolling? Other traditional skills? Build your own? To purchase a fine looking craft that you can paddle with confidence and pride anywhere in any conditions?

Kayaking is great fun and gets you outdoors and active. As with entry into any new hobby, you can burn up too much free time and cash making impulse decisions. Regardless of "style" you need a place to store all this gear, haul all the stuff and time and place to use it.

Have fun and be safe!

Having…
…only been kayaking for three years I’m barely an intermediate paddler, but I would offer this advice:

1. Find a boat that fits your size and weight

2. Never paddle in conditions that you haven’t practiced rescues in

3. ALWAYS wear your PFD