Newbie cant track straight

I have limited paddling experience on inflatable kayak like the tomcat, but not much on sit-in style hard top. I recently got an old, used 9’ single sit in kayak made from wave sport. I was told it was more a river kayak, the bottom is more or less rounded, and it has no separate compartments. I plan to do mostly lake until i am more confident to do open water.

I took it to the lake to try it out, but to my surprise it weathervane quite a bit. I felt like i was spinning more than paddling.

Is there anything on the kayak i can change to make it more stable? Or should i just get a more recent recreational kayak?

Thanks so much!

kayaks
White water kayaks vs. flat water kayaks. WW kayaks are designed to change direction quickly to avoid rocks etc. They have very little directional stability by design, you don’t often paddle them the water moves you.

Flat water kayaks need to be able to move in a relative straight line while being paddled, are intended and designed with this in mind.

You are using the wrong boat for flat water. While it do that, it’s a lot more work. Short paddle strokes will minimize the amount of wandering, but not eliminate it.

Bill H.

it’s a whitewater kayak
Wavesport makes kayaks for use in whitewater rapids. As the previous answer explained, these short boats have hulls designed to be quickly maneuverable to negotiate rocks and narrow fastwater channels. They are not designed to track straight and there is not much you can do with technique to change that.

If your intention is to paddle flatwater rivers and large lakes or open water, this is the wrong kind of boat. You need a properly fitted and equipped touring kayak. Recreational style kayaks are also short and most lack flotation chambers and other safety features so they are not suitable for open and/or deep waters.

Thanks
Thanks for the advice. Would a older Dagger Zydeco 9’ do any better in lakes?

Good news, bad news