Newbie Family Canoe recommendation

I’m a newbie to the forum and canoeing.

I am looking at a used canoe for the family – myself, spouse and two kids aged 8 and 5. There is a slow brown river across the street from us. We are between two dams, but the river runs through wooded sections.

So, the canoe is for just paddling about, looking for river otters, muskrat, pretty views, but the rived is maybe 100’ at the widest and 30’ in some parts. It’s plenty deep enough all around.

I’ve been reading that I should look for a 17’ canoe, but I’m concerned about the turn radius. Could I get myself and spouse on the seats, and kids in the middle in a 15’ canoe? What about if one of the adults just wants to take one (or both) kids. Is a 17’ canoe too much for one adult to manage?

Two brands on craigslist near me are 17’ old town discovery and a 14’ fibreglass chief. Any reason to go with or stay away from either?

Thanks for any help!

Quick Advice

– Last Updated: Apr-18-09 7:22 PM EST –

This is a question that has come up a lot lately. I'd say do a search, but the search function doesn't work that well for me.

With two adults and two kids of those ages, even a 17-foot canoe won't seem like enough before you know it. For now, 17 feet is what you want, but eventually you would need something bigger or two boats, but let's just talk about right now. No one who asks this question wants to believe that a 15-footer is too small for what you want to do, but you will see once you start getting in the boat "for real".