Newbie help please

greetings! I’m a newbie looking for help purchasing my first kayak. Would love to hear your suggestions for inexpensive “starter” kayaks for easy paddling on lakes and slow rivers. thanks!

what’s good for one …
may be entirely wrong for you. i’d start with a budget in mind and then test paddle as many boats as you can of those on your list.

all boats are not created equal with regard to fit and this is a very important factor. after you’ve paddled many boats, YOUR choice will become obvious to you.

I don’t believe in “starter” boats
I do agree with liv2padl’s comments; try as many boats as you can, considering the types of water you wish to paddle on, and the right boat for you will find you. Remember though, that as you gain a bit of paddling experience, your dreams of paddling into different conditions may well expand, and your inspiration to learn certain paddling techniques may be hampered by a “starter boat” that doesn’t respond well to more “advanced” and subtle techniques.

I’ll try to explain in more detail why I’m not comfortable with the idea of “starter” or “beginner’s” boats for adults with already fully developed bodies…

First, just by calling a boat such a thing implies that one can already imagine something else more capable of taking them where they really want to go; both in terms of the types of waters/conditions one might want to deal with and with regards to developing the necessary (and fun!) skills for more “advanced” paddling.

If you know, without a doubt, that you’ll never want to paddle on any waters, or in any conditions that might require a more “seaworthy” boat and the skills to handle such a boat in these more lively conditions, there are many models of “recrational kayak” that could be just perfect for you. In such a case, these would not have to be considered “beginner’s boats” at all; just the “right” boat for the circumstances.