Newbie Here

I am interested in getting into kayaking. I would appreciate any advice. To get things started here are some questions:

1. What type of kayak should I get? I am interested in kayaking rivers and lakes mostly.
  2. I have rented a kayak a couple of times. That is my only experience. Should I take a class?
  3. What else do you think I should know about getting started in kayaking?

Thanks for the help.

Classes are great
Basically you just don’t know - what you don’t know.

Taking a class avoids blundering into it all

I agree - take a class

– Last Updated: May-29-11 1:47 AM EST –

See if you can find a class tat covers basic kayaking. Basically, where the shop lays a bunch of kayaks of different styles and shapes on a beach and talks about what each is meant for. Then shows you the basics that would impact all types of kayaks (forward stroke, sweep stroke, etc). Then lets you try them all. The goal is to figure out what type of kayak you are after.

After that, see if you can take a class aimed at the type of kayak your chose. Self rescues should you accidentally flip over would be one thing that would be good for that class.

There is no need for a class
just try out and bunch and then buy one that seems to suit you, and go out and paddle.

Once you have paddled a bit, if you want to learn the various correction strokes, just pick up a book or borrow one from a library.

The more you paddle, the better you will get at it.

jack L

Take a class
When I started canoeing 10 years ago I did not take a class. A few years down the road I did take one. It was an eye-opener. There was a lot I could not do. And some of what I was doing, if not wrong, was at least clumsy. There is a saying in the community that “the thrill is in the skill”. I find that to be true and the skill will come much faster with instruction.

Peter

Classes are good for…

– Last Updated: Jun-01-11 9:10 PM EST –