Newbie- Lake Michigan

Hello everybody, thanks in advance for reading this!

I am a newbie to the kayak scene, however im a college student that is involved in the crew team so paddling is not completely foreign. Heres my question, i just bought a voyager 111 from old town, and my ultimate goal is to paddle on lake Michigan, of course when my skill level permits it. but will this boat stand up, will i be able to take it out with out it capsizing or something like that, or do i need to get an even more expensive boat ?

thank you all so much.

Hmmmm… I and several others on
this board are old oarsmen. I don’t know about the Old Town craft you describe, but I have been on Lake Michigan, in an Old Town Tripper, and I stayed in a Holiday Inn Express last night.

Your question brings the old Army answer, “It depends on the situation and the terrain.” Obviously on those days when Lake Michigan looks pretty smooth, and the forecast is for good conditions, you can cruise along the coast in any rec kayak, any canoe, a single scull, a whitewater kayak, whatever. If conditions get from easy up to average or even rather bad, you want to be in a true sea or touring kayak, with thigh braces, smaller cockpit, spray cover, bulkhead or float bag flotation in the boat, AND you want to be trained and experienced in self-rescue, bad water technique, launching and landing in surf, etc. AND you want to be going with a couple of more experienced touring/sea kayakers until you are pretty good.

So a true sea kayak, properly equipped, and a strong background of training and experience will give you relative freedom on Lake Michigan. If you have some other variety of craft, you need to adjust your expectations downward accordingly.

stay close to shore, get a skirt…

– Last Updated: Jun-03-07 10:44 AM EST –