Newbie - question about rudder and Perception Rhythm 11

I am a relative newbie who has fallen in love with kayaking after a summer using an inflatable. I am hoping I can rely on your collective expertise for some advice.

I live in central Ohio, so I probably will never be a hardcore paddler - the options here are limited to creeks, small rivers, and small lakes (although I would like to be able to paddle on Lake Erie someday). So I have decided for my first (non-inflatable) kayak, I don’t want to spend more than $800 or so. I would like a well-rounded kayak that is just as at home in a 2’ creek as it is (very close to shore!) on Lake Erie. I am looking at crossover rec/touring types, like the Dagger Axis 12 and the Perception Expression 11.5. I think if I want to have Lake Erie as an option I will need a skeg.

However I also have a lead on a used Perception Rhythm 11 - no skeg, but I was thinking I could purchase a rudder kit to help with tracking. Now I know as a new paddler, I am at risk of developing bad habits if I have a rudder, but I would plan to be disciplined and use it only as a skeg for now.

So two questions - 1) does this sound like a decent setup for my goals, and 2) can the Perception Rhythm accept the Perception rudder kit?

Thanks for any answers.

Have you read the reviews here? Sounds like a good beginner boat . I don’t think you need a rudder unless you are paddling in heavy currents or wind and that isn’t the boat for those conditions. You should be able to control that size boat with your paddle.
Don’t think I’d take it on Erie unless you are sure there will be no sudden weather changes. One good wave can fill it.

1 Like

I agree with String. Short kayaks shouldn’t need rudders - and if you’re in conditions that warrant one, the kayak is probably not meant to be out there anyway! I’d spend the money saved on the rudder kit on a good intro kayaking class.