Newbie questions about QCC 500 vs 700

I am a newbie to kayaking. I have rented a few rec kayaks and have really enjoyed getting out on the water. I talked my friend into getting a kayak with me, and have been looking at QCC kayaks. We found a QCC 500 for him today and I brought it home and put it in a small pond to see what it felt like. It was a little more tippy feeling than I thought it would be, but only for a couple degrees until it felt really solid. I did not feel like I would roll completely over at any time. What I want to know is how close the initial and secondary stability of the 700 is to the 500. I just dont want to get in over my head on the 700 in terms of stability. Can anyone compare the 2 that has paddled both? I would love to test paddle a 700 to compare, but don’t want to drive to Wisconsin to do it as I live in Jacksonville, Florida. Thanks in advance for any input.

I have owned both for some years.
With time you will become confident with either one.

But the 500 is more forgiving than the 700. The 700 does not have as much initial or secondary stability as the 500. But you are comparing a 21in. wide hull to a 23in.wide hull. Big difference. I have been in some conditions in the 700 where if I wasn’t moving forward I did feel a little nervous. Yet in the same conditions in the 500 I had no worries. Do yourself a favor Gmhorse and don’t overlook the 500. Of the 7 kayaks I own I put the most miles on the 500.

QCC 700 --> Small Cockpit!
That 700 has a deck height of only 12", and was not designed for a big person, 225 lbs. I had a QCC 700 for one season. I sold it. I felt like a sardine in a can. Fast boat, but way too small in the cockpit for me. I now paddle a Current Designs, Titan Low Volume, Nice big cockpit, great boat for Lake Superior camping on the Apostle Islands. The 700 might work for you, depends on your size.

Call up Steve from QCC
He should be able to put yopu in touch with someone in your area that will let you try their 700.