Newbie questions and is this a dancer?

hi all, I’m a bit of newbie to kayaking (been quite a few times with groups but not solo)
I’m planning on mainly paddling canals on short day trips what would you say are the essentials to carry (UK)
additionally I bagged this kayak for free I believe it’s an old perception dancer can anyone confirm?

Google Photos

Have you tried posting on the “Song of the Paddle” forums? Many more participants in the UK on there than here (mostly Yanks on this forum.) You may find a local paddling club nearby who would be a good source for information on both the boat and some upgrades you are going to need to make to start using it.

Can’t tell if it is a Dancer as there were a lot of whitewater boats that look like that back in the 80’s and 90’s which is probably the vintage of that freebie. Perception made many similar models. Can you find a serial number on it somewhere? Often engraved in an inconspicuous place on the outer hull.

You need inflatable flotation bags to go in the stern and bow for safety. It will fill with water and sink otherwise if you capsize. Also, that paddle is junk. Invest as much as you can afford in a decent paddle. Expect to pay 100 to 200 pounds for a good new one, maybe half that if you can find used. But if you can borrow some first you will be better able to determine a good fit and style that suits you. Investing in some beginner lessons will go far – paddling is not as “intuitive” as most people think. And having some safety guidance is a very good idea.

And of course you need a PFD (though I think you folks call it a “buoyancy vest”). Yak makes nice ones, readily available on your side of the Pond. Also a spray deck or you will be constantly wet. A bilge pump is handy (should be under 15 quid) and you will want a dry bag or two to stash your kit under the deck.