Newbie - what motor and battery?

-- Last Updated: Aug-01-15 10:01 AM EST --

Dear padddlers!

I am a total newbie in paddling. I live in Greece and bought a BIC Trinidad to paddle at sea and lakes with my partner. We have been a few times in the water and love it. Now we want to buy an electric motor, but I am overwhelmed by the offers. I don't know how many lbs I need - the more might be better but then I need a huge and obviously very heavy battery that we have to carry arround all the time. How many lbs do we need if we are to use the motor at sea with some waves and what type of battery would you suggest (how many ampere)?

Thank you so much for your input!

how far/fast are you going?

– Last Updated: Aug-01-15 12:15 PM EST –

Most people on this site don't use motors, though a minority do. I do, and have posted regarding them. I use the motor for two reasons:
1. the canoe I have is a hassle to paddle. It's too wide, and is primarily a platform for fishing.
2. I'm recovering from an injury, and can't paddle the way I want to. After I recover, I will keep the motor and use it to increase fishing range without exhausting myself before even starting to fish.

All this is to say, be clear as to why you want a motor. Do you want speed or range? For speed, a Torqueedo would be great. The propeller pitch is optimal for pushing a small craft quickly. A 55 lb Minnkota would be good also, and less expensive. If your primary goal is range, a 30 lb Minnkota would do just fine, especially if it has a "digital maximizer", aka, a "pulse width modulator" (which saves on battery usage). Minnkota is a great brand. Carry a spare paddle and motor prop (w/ instalation screwdriver and wrench) in case of problems.

You want a "deep cycle" marine battery. There are four types: lead acid (with subtypes: standard, glass mat; aka "AGM", and gel), as well as Lithium Ion.