Newbie with a really Newbie Question

Hi, everyone! Great site! I just recently purchased a recreational kayak (Pelican Trailblazer) and I have taken it out a couple of times for about two-and-a-half hours each time. I’m a total novice to kayaking. I do have canoeing experience, but this is a bit different. I am taking it out on a very still lake that prohibits gas motor boats and so far I’m loving it. With that said, once the temperatures get below the mid-90s I’d like to take it out for a day trip. For that I’d like to stick a small towel and maybe some snacks in the storage hatch behind the cockpit.

The problem? I cannot figure out how to confidently reach behind me to access the storage area. Does anyone have any tips for keeping the kayak somewhat stable while reaching behind to get to the storage compartment? I have tried searching Google and YouTube and can’t seem to find the information I’m looking for. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

just practice it
You need to be able to reach around by twisting at your waist some so your torso stays centered. Just spend time moving around on and in the boat near shore until you get used to it. Unless you are way oversized for that boat, you should be able to twist all over the place without cspsizing.

Getting in tht rear hatch …

– Last Updated: Jul-27-15 4:49 PM EST –