Hi there guys, I am a complete newbie to this. I am from central pa, and was talking to someone at work, im a male nurse he was a patient of mine. And he was telling me about his canoe and how he has a motor on it. So this sounds like a great time, and what i want to do is get into a canoe, for as little money as i can, with a trolling motor on it. I want to fish a river with an average flow of 2-4mph. I want to beable to motor up the river 2 or 3 miles and then just let myself coast down the river and fish. I want it to be light enough i can load it onto my car and into the river myself. I want it to be atleast a 2 seater so if my daughter goes she will beable to(after i get alittle experience with it). Im a young guy i can lift atleast 80-90 lbs over my head, was looking for soemthing in the 50lb range. I dont have a local shop around, the closest ones are over an hour away. all i have to work with is sears/dicks, and the 1 boat at dunhams an Old town guide 147. what do you guys think, can you give me alittle input. Ive been researching alot and have been learning alot. so if i can have alittle guidance that woudl be great, i know dick’s cant give me much.

Mitch

A real male nurse
would paddle his craft upstream :+)

Check the classifieds on this site and be prepared to drive a bit and test a bunch of different boats. My canoes are decked ( aka kayaks) so I can not do much more than jerk your chain. Lots of canoe folk in your neck of the woods though.

haha
I wish i had the ability to paddle my canoe up stream. i checked the classifieds, little mreo than im looking to spend, i dont really want to spend much over 350-400 i will if i absolutley have to but like i said, not doing anything extreme here, not going to deal with any rappids or anything. just floating down the river.

thanks

Mitch

"Motor Boatin"