-- Last Updated: Mar-24-12 11:58 PM EST --

Hey everyone. I'm sure u have had plenty of threads basically the same as mine. But anyways I am completely new to kayaking.

Got in my friends for a bit to make sure I like it and had a blast. Wanting to get into this summer but do not have much of an idea on where to start. I talked to my friend but he is one of the unhelpful types that never really gets back to you.

Its whitewater kayaking but nothing crazy yet of course. Just pretty small and tame rivers and hope to progressivly work my way up.

For starters what kind of kayak would I need.

I am about 5'9 and around 155. I dont know anything about sizes or specs or anything like that so any advice would be welcome.

Another question I have is that after kayaking I wanted to do some camping. Would the storage compartments on kayaks allow enough room for say a sleeping bag and a few other things?

Thanks in advance and any advice is welcome. I really just need someone to point me in the right direction as I am pretty clueless at the moment.

Maybe a club in your area?
Good Morning YS,

How about joining a club that shares your interest or looking into beginners classes from a dealer/outfitter in your area? We don’t do the whitewater thing (Florida) so can’t offer any insight.

Maybe someone else will chime in… Be safe.

choices
There’s a huge selection of boats that could work for you, depending on the kind of water you’re paddling and what you want to do in it.

If you think you’ll be paddling rivers that have long flat sections between rapids, you might want to consider one of the longer hybrids. they trade some whitewater capability for better performance on the flat.

http://nocoutfitterstore.blogspot.com/2009/04/gear-review-hybrid-kayaks.html