I am an older newbie looking for some advice, whenever I go to any of the Kayak stores I can’t get a straight answer, I just want to know what length of Kayak would be best for me I have a large lake near me that can get up to a 3 ft swell and I would like to do some ocean touring as well. Whenever I ask about a 14 ft or a 17 ft all I can get is well either, is that true?

hmmm

– Last Updated: Jan-10-14 7:33 PM EST –

I have a 14 foot and a 17 foot kayak, and both work fine for what you are mentioning. So not sure we can give you a straight answer either.

I would start by reading the article on page 6 of the Spring 2013 issue of California Kayaker Magazine that talks about different types of boats. Can be read online fort free at http://www.calkayakermag.com/magazine.html. Presumably you are not talking about white water kayaks, so those can be written off. And in talking about 14 ft vs 17 foot, you likely are talking touring kayaks. But best to make sure you are headed the right direction from the start.

After you find the category of kayak you want, start spending time in kayaks. Take classes, rent kayaks, etc. Depending on where you are, you may have to wait for warmer weather. But it is hard for a kayak shop to tell you what is right for you unless you have enough experience to know some of what you like and don't like.

Oh, there is an article in the same magazine's Spring 2012 issue called Getting Butt Time that talks about why and how to get time in kayaks - might be worth a read also.

Yes it’s true
I also have a 14 and a 17.

Speaking very generically, the longer boat can be narrower and displace the same amount of water. The narrower the boat the easier it is to paddle fast or far. The tradeoff, a long narrow boat will not feel as stable initially as something just a couple inches wider. For going far offshore I take the 17, the 14 is easier to handle on creeks and in the marshes. A day trip in the Gulf along the shore I would take either one.