NOAA charts for Garmin gps?

Hello-

My father in law just gave me a Garmin etrex vista GPS, and I’d like to see if I can load NOAA charts into it for sea kayaking. I can’t find any indication on the Garmin mapsource website of NOAA charts with their existing software. The NOAA website lets you download their charts for free, and they have a list of software companies that provide viewing software. But I can’t figure out if any of those programs will work with garmin gps units.

So: does anyone use a Garmin mapping GPS with NOAA charts? If not, do you use any Garmin maps that work well for kayaking? I kayak on Lake SUperior, but eventually I’d like to head out to the real ocean.

Thanks! I’m a complete gps novice, and while this might not be the best unit for kayaking, it was a gift, it’s small, and its submersible, so I’m not complaining.

Garmin Bluechart software…
is what you’ll need if it works on that GPS unit. I’ve been quite happy with Garmin’s TOPO USA as well as it has NAVAIDS on it and I’ve found it adequate for kayaking in the US.

Garmin BlueChart
Garmin has a for a fee software package called BlueChart Americas. This will allow you to load one region of charts into the gps. I am not familiar with your model of gps, I have the map76 unit. The software has several other advantages over the standard maping software that came with at least the map76 unit. The NOAA charts are much higher resolution and the display is easier to read and much more accurate. The gps itself is very accurate and will place your position precicely on the display. However, the base map that comes with the unit was not accurate and the map vs. the plot point did not mate. This issue goes away with the bluechart software.