Noob question on buying kayak

Hi everyone! I’m a noob to kayaking. I want to get a couple kayaks for recreational paddling on calm lakes. I think I’ve decided on an Emotion Darter 9 kayak. It looks like just what I need. However, I’m bigger (about 200 lbs.) and I want to put my daughter on my lap (she’s three, about 35 lbs.). The Darter’s maximum load is 250. That gives me some wiggle room, but I don’t want my fat arse to sink this thing, but I also don’t really want much bigger. Suggestions? Thoughts? Lose some weight, fatty? Thanks in advance!

What’s your reason for a 9-footer?

– Last Updated: Jun-24-14 6:38 PM EST –

Most beginners seem to want the shortest possible boat, but really, 12 feet is about as short as you can go and still have some halfway-decent cruising speed. Longer boats can even be easier to load on your car than short ones, if your roof rack is set up for a slide-on loading method. I myself would prefer to put a 200# beginner in a 13- or 14-foot boat if it needed to be "short", but you may have your reasons for wanting one that's 9 feet.

9 footer
At first I was looking at a 10 footer, but the 9 footer seems easier to transport. I don’t care about going fast. I just want to fart around on the water with my daughter. I’m thinking 9 foot because it seems easier to carry and load, as I will be doing this myself. Also cost, always cost, as I will also need to buy a roof rack for my car. I appreciated any and all suggestions, so thank you for replying! :slight_smile:

No Don’t Do It
If you don’t have any paddling experience don’t sit your daughter in your lap in a 9’ kayak.

Look into a tandem sit on top like a Cobra or Ocean Kayak Malibu II or Hobie Oddysey, buy used, look on Craigslist for a bargain. Yes they are heavy and you will need a roof rack.

thanks!
Thanks so much! I realize paddling with my daughter on my lap will be awkward. I will keep looking into this and researching further. Thanks!

Consider weight too then