Noob Questions

-- Last Updated: Aug-24-09 3:50 PM EST --

Hi All!

Newbie here. I have some questions that will sound pretty dumb to the experienced paddlers.

I've paddled in a canoe on flatwater, and up to Class III, in a raft on tame whitewater, and am wanting to make the step up to a kayak.

The only rivers I've been on is Saluda/Congaree River, and Chattooga in SC, and the French Broad, and Nantahala River in NC.

I know I need to take some courses in whitewater paddling.

But the main thing I want to know is, how hard is it to get out of your kayak in rapids? Every time I've rafted and canoed, it was just a matter of stepping out. How do you guys get out to portage, etc? Get in calm water downstream from a big rock? What if you can't find calm water?

Sorry, I wish I could phrase my question better.

Rich

PS- I have a few more questions, but I'll put them in another post.

getting in and out
If you have canoed on Class III whitewater, which I’m not sure I would necessarily describe as “tame” I don’t know if I would consider getting into a kayak “the next step up”.

However, getting in and out of a whitewater K1 is a little more difficult than getting in and out of a canoe. When you ask about getting out of a kayak in a rapid, I assume you are talking about finding a bank eddy and getting out of the boat in a controlled fashion, as opposed to flipping, pulling the skirt, wet-exiting and swimming.

Sometimes you will need to get out in a pretty small eddy. If the bank is steep, it can be a bit challenging. Often you can use your paddle to brace yourself by holding it crosswise just behing the cockpit coaming. Sometimes you have to just fall out and stand in the eddy, if that is an option.