Nordkapps

-- Last Updated: Aug-27-07 2:56 AM EST --

Hi
I am writing an article on the history of the Nordkapp kayak for the Norwegian website www.qajaq.no and have a question regarding the H2O model. I have been paddling different Nordkapps since 1979, and currently owns a brand new version, and my brother has a LV, a Jubilee and an old HM.

Is the Nordkapp H20 the same boat as what Valley calls the Nordkapp Standard today?

Harald

I believe so…
To my knowledge it was the American designation for “Two Oval Hatches”. The H2O has been dropped and now just called the Nordkapp here.

Yes
The current Nordkapp (standard) is the same as the H2O.

Thanks
Thank you very much, just what I needed:-)

Harald

June 28, 0732 AM
http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=685035

Look at my post on this therad on that date and time for a link to a hodgepodge history for the Nordy. At lkeast you could check facts with it.

Aand P netter Peter Orton is the designer for Valley, in case you wish to ask him directly. Orton***, I cannot recall the numbers, but if you Search Pnet for Peter Orton, you;ll see his posts and can email him.

G’luck, Amigo.

Thanks Cooldoctor!!!
I knew that everyone wasn’t quite on the money with inputs - so was hoping either Peter or someone like you would chirp in with all the data. I just couldn’t fill in all the blanks so didn’t comment.

On a side note - that Nordy LV will be in my stable within the month along with my new Lendal Kinetic Tour paddle in carbon! I am revisiting the British side of kayaking again as its just too good to ignore! (yikes)

Scott

The most complete thread on Nordkapps
Within the thread cooldoctor sites, is, IMHO, the best thread thus far on the 'kapp:

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=381430#381470

Has anyone ever interviewed Frank Goodman, the designer of the original Norkapp and founder of Valley, about its design and lineage?

From Peter’s Post…