NRS water shoes

Anybody tried these shoes?

I’m thinking about replacing my Keen during the “frigid” winter months in South Florida.

http://www.nrsweb.com/shop/product.asp?pfid=2344&deptid=1169

Yup…
that’s what I wear until the real cold stuff hits and I then go to the thicker paddler shoe.

My biggest gripe with all NRS footwear is the narrow bed they use. I have to wear a fullsize up in order to get the width. I’m between a D and E in the fore foot area.

All in all, a good paddling shoe and I’d buy it again.

Holmes

Good buy…
I have been using my NRS Rodeo Socks for about 5 months now and like them as I paddle mostly low volume boats that don’t like big feet with bulky shoes.

I have noticed though that there is a seam in the heel area that starts to hurt/dig in if you are really crammed into your boat and have no padding under your heels, so would recommend to work on that if you get them.

Note that these work very well with SOF kayaks as there is no heel “edge” to catch on the ribs when exiting the boat. That was always a pet peeve of mine when I paddled one, as I could never leave the boat with my water shoes on!!

Not sure how these will hold up in cold water though as they are pretty thin. I will be wearing my Kokatat drysuit with booties, so will see what happens when the water temps fall below 50 degrees.

Scott

how cold will it be I recommend Choata
I have Choata quick lace nearly knee high and choata ankle shoes. Both pair run smug.

The quick lace will keep your feet dry and warm, it helps to wear neophrene socks under them and this also helps with the seams causing pressure and hurting your feet or toes.

I wore them wading in the Kalamazoo River in December during a big snow storm. I don’t recommend wading in the Kalamazoo but I do recommend the boots for warmth. Wish I’d some of these when I was in my twenties on campus in the slush and snow.

It might be too warm down there for them.