O No, not another paddle thread

I’m 5.2 and have a 220cm skagit. Yak is 22.5 inches wide. Not sure if it’s because I’m still new to all this or if the paddle is too long, but it just seems a little cumbersome to me. It has me wondering if I should consider something shorter. I’ve tried some shorter paddles (210, 200) and really liked how they felt. I’ve also been reading a little in the archives and see some people like even shorter paddles.

The only paddles I’ve seen under 200cm seem to be white water paddles. Is that what people are using, and are they a good choice for flatwater?

I’m also intrigued by those greenland paddles, but don’t really know if I’m ready for such a nice paddle yet. Werner Shuna looks like it might be a nice choice, or something similar?

All advice welcome!

kari

I Am Your Height
my touring paddles are 210 cm. But as you noticed, it can be even shorter. My surfing/ww paddles are from 180-194 cm. My wife is also my height. When she went out to paddle with me in the seakayaks, I noticed that she yawed (zig-zagged) a lot with the longer paddle because of a lower paddling angle. Gave her the shorter 194 cm paddle and that problem worked itself out. Ditto for my kids when they were younger.

These days I rarely used my touring boat but when I do I go with a 194 cm paddle, largely because I am going out to play in waves or tidal current and want short, high angle fast strokes. I find the ww/surf paddles work fine for me. I think for general touring, maybe a 200-205 cm may be a good size.

GPs are good too for general touring. The issue is finding one shaped and sized to your liking. Short of the Superior and Cricket made paddles with set sizes, the GPs are pretty much hand shaped and you have to sort of know what you want or trust the shaper by telling him what you like so far with the shorter Euro paddle.

sing

Custom

– Last Updated: Jul-20-07 5:39 AM EST –

This guy will make it any length you like:

http://www.lumpypaddles.com/