Off season fitness

Next spring my son and I will be going on a 250plus mile river(not white water) kayak trip. We are not able to kayak in the winter, what are the best work outs to keep us in prime condition?

William

choices
I like concept one rowing machine or orbital treadmill. Maybe you should buy gym memberships and do some hiking. Maybe plan on one trip down south with your boat. Moorehead city,NC has the intracoastal waterway. Make it fun and congratulations on having family who share your passion for the great outdoors. Hope your boats have lots of thigh paddling. ADK is a great read for long comfy camp trips.

Do Whatever You will Enjoy Doing
I am a beginner yakker but a road and mountain biker for many years. All winter, I ride a stationary recumbent bike because I enjoy it and it keeps me fit.

Becuase I enjoy it, I do it.

Have a great trip.

Agree
Do something you enjoy and try to keep your weight down. I don’t think your workouts necessarily need to be upper-body.

Don’t ignore the BT.
That is, Butt Training. If your plans have you going 60 miles per day at 5 MPH plus 1 MPH river, that’s 10 hours of sitting. Need to check out what kayak you will be in, work out the leg positioning and padding, and have some spare foam for changing positions and pressure points. Need to do some checkout paddles. Lots of preparation planning to do, that’s half the fun.

Get a good canoe.
Not trying to be tacky. A good double will haul your gear better and you will be much more comfortable and just as fast.

Is there snow in your area?
I found that x-country skiing is a great all around workout.

compliment that with mountain biking if the weather permits it, or a indoor wind trainer when it doesn’t.