Old Grumman Canoe Stats

Does anyone know where I can find statics on old canoes? I have (I believe) a 1965 Grumman canoe that was originally purchased for a Boy Scout troupe by my Grandfather. I want to know an estimated weight for the bugger. I cannot pick the thing up (being vertically challenged and relatively weak) and I’m trying to see if trailer is a viable option. (Pricey as they are) Also, can a Honda Civic 4 cylinder be used to haul a canoe? These are things I have no knowledge of. Until this summer my husband and I would use the canoe, he rigged a piece of 2 x 4 to mount a trolling motor to, for fishing.

Unfortunately cancer took him recently. He used to be able to put the canoe on top of the van for transport. I’m lucky if I can pick up one end, much less hoist the thing on my shoulders and put it on top of anything.

I would appreciate some feedback.

some Info:
If the canoe was bought for Boy Scout use, there’s a good chance it is a “17-Foot Standard” model. They don’t make as many different models as they used to, but the 17-foot Standard is still in the lineup.

http://www.marathonboat.com/grummancanoes.asp

I didn’t look up the weight on the website, but I seem to remember it being in the mid-70s, while the heavier shoe-keeled model (which has more ribs) was about 10 pounds heavier.

If you can pick up one end, you probably “can” put it on a car roof. If the rear crossbar of your roof rack is close enough to the rear, just set one end on that bar, then lift the other end and slide it up. There are two or three other common methods for loading by lifting one end at a time, too. You can get plenty of advice on this if you need it, but it IS possible that you are too small to REASONABLY carry a Grumman by yourself. They are heavy buggers.