Old Town Ambush ??

Has anyone seen one of these up close?

All the local places that carry Old Town tell me they can order me one but I would really like to try one out. I see these are a heavy unit at 100 lbs. we have been using the canoe would like something a bit more stable befor my 10 year old dumps us both.

I not an expert but I am far from a novice. Have been in a canoes and kayaks of some sort for most of my 47 years.

I bought a two up Perception kayak a while back and sold it after 2 times out with it. It was a barge with just me and my daughter you had almost no control once you got it moving. Our combined weight was only about 50% of what the yak was rated for I was glad I bought it used I got out of it what I had into it.

NO more buying without a test drive first.

beware
This boat is at the extreem end of the weight and width scale for a kayak and heavier than any canoe of that length. While I’ve never seen one, I know extreems are usually not good things in water craft. I’m betting it’s going to paddle like a REAL barge. You don’t mention if your trying to paddle solo, give the yak to the 10 yr old, etc but I’d be looking at a 14-16’ canoe with a 38-42" beam if you still want to fish together. If you want to fish solo, look at something with more conventional recreational yak specs ( Like a loon 138 for instance.)

yup
I just saw one last night. There’s a shop here in NH that has one on the showroom. It’s apretty mean looking sucker, the Bat Mobile of kayaks lol. Looked pretty large and heavy.

yak yak
I fish alone & poke around backwaters and such a lot, but the daughter likes to come from time to time. I’m not looking for a fast boat but the Kayak I had would not turn at any speed once you were under way that was that. And paddling didn’t matter if it was both of us or just me. If I had the extra cash I would buy two yaks one for her and one for me.