Old Town Diligo?

I am new at Kayaking, went to Gander Mountain and saw this Kayak. Little info about me:

I am a 53 year old woman. Wanted something I could handle as I am single and go with other single women. I liked this Kayak due to its size, 10 ft. 6 ", has a dry hatch, comfortable to sit in. I have been on slow running river twice now with it. Basically pleased with it. For a beginner, I think it handles well. Anybody else have experience with this Kayak? It seems pretty stable. Haven’t tipped it yet, not difficult to keep it straight. Will I be happy with it for hopefully years to come?

Sure you will . . . .
Just don’t listen to a word anyone here says.

The Dirigos
are great boats, very comfortable and very capable. My best friend purchased two, one for him and one for his girlfriend, before I purchased my own kayak. I went out with him in the Dirigos a couple of times, and that helped to get me hooked on kayaking. While they weren’t the perfect boat for me I did enjoy them. They seem to track very well for a 10’6" boat, but still easy to maneuver. They have been great on the smaller creeks and streams we paddle as well as smaller lakes with wind.

As long as you are comfortable in it, happy with the boat and how it performs then there is no reason you should not get many years of happy use out of it.

Happy paddling…

Old Town builds good kayaks and
canoes. The Dirigo will serve you well. It may not be the fastest kayak on the block, but speed isn’t everthing. You may want to see if lessons are available in your area. They will help you become more familiar with the kayak teach you paddling skills, and you’ll learn about water safety and self rescue.

Good Choice
I chose the Loon over the Dirigo but it was almost the flip of a coin. As mentioned, not the fastest kid on the block but a great rec boat. When I test paddled the Dirigo, I was surprised at how well it tracked for a short boat. Enjoy!

Dirigo v. Loon