Old Town Pack mods?

I just bought a Field&Stream Kay-Noe which appears to be an Old Town Pack from what I have been reading. Well, I took it out this morning and didnt get 20 feet from the put in before I wound up swimming, subsequent trys were no better, so I packed up and went home in frustration. My first impulse was to march this vessel back to Dicks and demand a refund, but the idea of a portable little fishing craft is too good to give up on. I have read that pack owners have lowered thier seats and moved them closer to the center and this has resulted in a more stable craft. I would love to see some pictures of Pack Mods.

I am by no means an expert paddler, I have used a Wenonah Aurora for the past several years, but I have never not been able to paddle a canoe like what happened today!

Most of my trips are solo day trips and I am tired of wrestleing my Wenonah on and off of my truck when I am alone so I would love to make the Kay-Noe work!

Thanks,

Scott

Try paddling it kneeling

Seat is slippery
My main complaint about the seat is the fact that it is slippery. When I sat in it in my yard I slid all over it and could hardly keep my backside on it. That is why I put the sit backer on.

Any suggestions on adding a little traction to the seat?

Thanks again.

Scott.

perhaps
put a coat of paint on the seat that is made for plastic and adding a bit of sand to it. That is done some places to steps to prevent slipping in wet conditions. wouldn’t do it if you are planning on taking it back though, they might notice.

pac hints