Old town Penobscot VS Wenonah Champlain

-- Last Updated: Mar-01-12 9:53 AM EST --

I have an Old Town Penobscot 164 (16 foot 3 layer poly hull, 76lbs) I could trade up to a Wenonah Champlain (18 foot, royalex hull, 75lbs) for $300.

How do the 2 compare? Is it worth the upgrade?

I mostly canoe on slow rivers. Also some lakes around me. A few miles at a time, so short trips most of the time. However, I would like something that I could take up to the BWCA or shlep around by myself fairly easily. I will take along a friend so there will be 3 people in the canoe sometimes so the larger canoe has some appeal... Ive had an old rusty but trusty canoe that has served me up to now so im looking for some thoughts on how the 2 compare. Should I upgrade? or is it an upgrade?

Thanks!

Wenonah
Unless it is a small river, i would go with the wenonah. I think it is a better and more versatile boat. I believe it is basically an over-sized Spirit 2.

18’ Royalex @ 65lbs.?
Sounds optimistic, but the Wenonah is definitely an upgrade if you anticipate big loads. Lightly loaded in wind it could be a bear.

Can you get a Champlain in Tufweave
rather than Royalex? It will be lighter,stiffer, and faster. If that Champlain weight of 65 pounds is accurate, the Royalex Champlain will be a bit floppy with mild oil-canning of the bottom.

You’re right about the weight. Wenonah’s website says the champlain is 75 lbs. So if thats even is it still worth it?

Tough call.

– Last Updated: Mar-01-12 9:08 AM EST –

Your OT is a competent hull and can be soloed, but it's heavy for what it is. I've never paddled a Champlain. We have an OT Penob 17 that shines with two adults and generous gear. Three and gear would be pushing it, I think, but we've had four adults in the boat for fair-weather flat water sightseeing excursions many times with no trouble at all.

If your plan is for tandem tripping, though, and the boat is in comparable or better shape, then yeah, it's worth it.

Well, The Champlain…