Old Town Saranac 14.6 or Guide 14.7?

I’m a beginner looking to purchase my first canoe. The reason I have narrowed it down to these two models is because I have a $400 credit at Academy which carries these two models. I would mostly be doing solo trips on slow rivers and lakes with the occasional trip with my wife and daughter. Which model would track better during solo trips and is one more stable than the other?

Thanks for your input and opions…

the Guide
I’ve not paddled a Saranac, but we have an older Guide 147 and greatly enjoy it. Looking at the specs between the two, the Saranac is 2 inches narrower but 9 pounds heavier. The Guide also has a greater load rating. I believe the hull shape of the Guide makes it slightly faster to paddle and better in rough water. Don’t think I would like the flat bottomed Saranac.

I know people who take Guides in Class 2 and even 3 whitewater, though we stick with nothing over Class 1. Though we mainly kayak, we often take out the Guide on rivers and fast small streams. It’s very stable and tracks well. In fact, two weeks ago we realized we had left the canoe paddles in our minivan (which was in the shop getting some mechanical repairs) so we took our longest kayak paddles (240 for the stern paddler and 230 for the bow) and used them. It worked surprisingly well, so much so we plan to regularly take the kayak paddles along to switch off with the single paddles.

We have the plain “tractor” seats and my boyfriend has used it solo, sitting backwards. It isn’t ideal for soloing, but tolerable. Best with two paddlers. The only complaint at all I have about the Guide is that the footroom for the Bow paddler is a little tight, but I have long legs.

For the price, I think it’s hard to beat the Guide for a basic, entry level tandem day tripping canoe that you won’t outgrow.

center seat option?