Older coated drysuit?

Hi–

I’m new to swiftwater paddling, so I’m taking a swiftwater rescue course. At this time, I plan to packraft only, so I don’t need a drysuit for what I plan and want to do. However, we need to get a drysuit for the class.

I’m thinking of purchasing an older urethane coated drysuit for using during the class. What is a good price on one of these suits, assuming the gaskets are in good condition? I can’t seem to get the results that I want on eBay to get a feel for fair pricing. I’m open to arguments to getting a gore-tex drysuit, though I’d rather not spend the money for an item that will be used infrequently (if at all) after the class.

This might work for you: https://www.mythicdrysuits.com/collections/drysuits

Depending on where you live or are taking the course, there are some places that rent them. Or, if you have the patience, check the paddling site want ad listings for one – I got my Goretex Kokatat for only $400 a few years ago and it only needed a $30 neck gasket repair.

Also Kayak Academy continually sells off their rental suits on their website for decent prices (they are checked and repaired so as to be functional).

Would this one fit you? Listed in the classifieds here, Large Kokatat Goretex for $400:

https://paddling.com/classifieds/kokatat-mens-large-gfer-dry-suit-417689/?lat=40.2023&lng=-89.6982&zoom=10

A urethane coated suit will be like wrapping yourself in Saran Wrap. If this is a warmer weather course, could be pretty miserable.

Yeah, I know the (big) downside of urethane suits. However, I think I can suffer it for 2 days. I have a lead on a old suit, which is why I was wondering what a fair price would be. Ultimately, I was looking for something cheaper than renting a suit for 2 days.