Opinions on Predator K111

First, a little background. I’m an LSU student who wants to get into a kayak for several reasons. I’d like to be able to take advantage of a kayak for fishing purposes naturally, but also I dabble in some photography and besides that, I think it would be just a fun pastime where I could get a bit of exercise as well. My experience level isn’t that great. I’ve paddled canoes before and one SOT kayak. As for locations where I’d be fishing, mainly it would be bayous, slow moving rivers, and generally flat lakes/marshes.

I’ve been poking around online and going to outfitters to check out various kayaks, both SOTs and SIKs. So far, even though a lot of fishermen use SOTs for fishing, I find that they don’t really appeal to me. I’d be using it for other stuff than just straight fishing, plus I probably wouldn’t be too inclined to get out and wade about frequently. Anyway, as you’ve guessed, I’m considering an Old Town Predator K111. I’m a relatively small guy (5’11 and 160 pounds), don’t really feel like hauling around a huge kayak, and want maneuverability in those bayous and swamps so I think the size of the K111 would suit me. I do have one main concern although. Even though I don’t really require much storage space at all, I am concerned about it a bit. Would the K111 be able to accommodate a smallish ice chest comfortably in the cockpit? Other than that, I’d love some general opinions on the boat and if you think it would fit my conditions well.

Its a great kayak. Tracks well,
maneuvers well, and is stable. The kayak has a large cockpit, so a small soft sided or soft sides with plastic insert should be fine. But, my Loon 138 has the same cocpit and my Playmate cooler is a bit much for me and the cockpit. You may be able to fit a small cooler behind the seat too.

You may want to register at