Opinions on the MR Explorer 16TT

I bought a Mad River Explorer 16TT from REI and got it home only to see it was not symmetrical in shape and had 3 warps on one side of the hull of the shallow V. I called the company and they said put it in the sun for 8 hours, if not perfect by then, return it for a new one. I did return it and a new one is on its way.

Today I saw an Old Town Charles River at Spots Chalet for $100.00 more however the salesman said it has been there all summer and nobody has been interested in it and may go on sale in a month or so.

My question is what boat is better? Both look nice with the Old Town looking a bit more detailed (wood brackets for drop down mesh seats vs. plastic on the M.R. for example) I really like what the reviews say about the Mad River TT and with the shallow V, appears to be a good choice.

I am new to the sport and will be with family on lakes and camp trips & buddies on rivers (class 1 & 2 only)

Is the Mad River TT a good boat? I thought so; I bought one but have not used it. OR do I go with the Old Town? Any suggestions?

Are these boats in the same class?

Thanks everybody as you have already helped me with a previous post.

Bruce

Costa Mesa, CA

6/half dozen
you need to GO PADDLIN’!

The CR has traditional lines. You like?

The TT is a bit more modern in shape. It paddles very well.

for your use (possible current) I’d pick the TT. I’m not a huge fan of ol’ Canadians. lots of windage in those ends.

just 2 centavos.

steve

REI has
a very liberal return policy. I would take advantage of it ang go buy the Charles River. If it is the same version that I have seen at Dick’s (the Polylink version not the RX) it is equal to or better than the 16TT but seems to get the edge in durability and is well worth the extra $100 if the Mad River is made from the triple tough material and has plastic seats.

The Mad River 16 TT…