OT - Trailer Tow Vehicle - Capacity

I am going to try pulling a trailer with my 2.5l, 110hp, 135lb/ft torque Oldsmobile. The owners manual says it can’t tow anything, but I will just be pulling canoes and keeping the speed reasonable. Also, I am getting a mechanic to give it a good tune-up and go over all the key parts.

I was looking at other cars, and I can’t understand how vehicles get their ratings. For instance, the Buick LeSabre is only rated for 1000lbs, despite being considerably more powerful and heavier than the Toyota Corrolla (1500lb rating), or the Hyundai Elantra (3500lbs with trailer brakes). The Yaris even has a 750 lb rating and it is much smaller than my car.

Can anyone explain why so many passenger cars can only tow 1000 lbs? Does anyone have any recommendations on a small, fuel efficient car that can also comfortably pull a small trailer?

Thanks.

Just a thought,
as I’m not an engineer, but pulling the load forward is what the power does.

But the vehicle also has to have the frame/body structure to support the load, and the suspension as well.

Then there’s the brakes. Stopping with an additional load in a safe manner is quite important.

Best of luck, keep the trailer very light if you choose to do it.

T

HP and torque
alone aren’t the only factors that determine how much a vehicle can tow. Other factors include axle gearing, transmission gearing, transmission cooling, suspension, frame, and brakes. You also have to keep in mind that when towing a trailer of any kind with any vehicle you have to subtract the weight of any cargo you are carrying in the vehicle from the vehicle’s towing capacity.

Thanks . . .
I understand the idea of considering the whole vehicle, not just the engine, and the gross weight. I guess I am just surprised that a little corolla can tow more than a full-sized Buick with a V6. Moreover, if the full-sized Buick has four 200lb occupants, its remaining capacity could be as little as 200 lbs?!?!