outboard motor and canoe

I have an old 3 hp. outboard that I would like to put on a canoe with a motor mount. I am thinking of getting a canoe that weighs 55-60 pouonds so that I can get it down from overhead storage easily. Anyway, if I went with an Old Town canoe of this weight and used their motor mount, do you think it would be stable enough? for some reason it seems like the canoe would just heel over to one side with a motor that big hanging there (unless someone was in the boat and constantly counter-balancing).

Any suggestiuons on canoes are welcome as well. As I stated I am trying to keep the weight down and the cost as well. If it proves safe in smaller water, I plan on using the canoe with motor on the Missouri River, but will also use it as a general purpose paddler. Thanks!

stabilizers
I’d look at these. I have some experience with motors on canoes and can tell you it will be very unstable when you turn.

http://www.canoegear.com/catalog/home.php

How much
does the motor weigh?

These are good ones.
Many years ago I used these and other stabilizers for various configurations with electric and small gas motors. The sponsons do make a lot of sense when using motors that can very quickly flip your canoe. Have also used stabilizers as outriggers in sailing configurations.

These older more square Ethafoam Stabilizer Floats like I used work fine too. A lot cheaper. The fancy bullet ones are not necessary unless you just gotta have 'em. http://www.canoegear.com/catalog/home.php?cat=53 You can also make your own if you are handy with tools, materials, and ideas.

As for the boat, well I always think it smarter to start a little higher end rather than join the “trade up every year club”. But that is me. You get the canoe you are comfortable paddling and fits your pocket book. The main rule here is to paddle, paddle, and paddle some more different canoes to see which one you like BEFORE you buy.