Outfitting Super Nova

Well I’ve had the Super Nova out six times now. The love at first paddle affair I began with her hasn’t deminished any. I must confess I’m head over heels “grin”. Last time out was an overniter I’ve did many times over the past twenty years or so. The usual two portages became one… this boats stability is amazing…anyhow I’m a lazy b#$%d by nature so I’m lovin this. I have been for years a class three paddler, I can see myself moving to class four in this boat. Having a concern about foot entrapment in the bigger water I ordered the complete saddle package from Mohawk. I have plans to start this project Sunday afternoon. This is my first time installing a saddle but I’m comfortable with being able to do it. My question would be does anyone have any tips and tricks of the trade you care to share…thanks to all in advance…

It’s Great
when everything clicks and you really like the boat you have.

Enjoy,

Mark

Advice???
Measure twice before gluing…

Don’t be affraid to move thwarts/add thwarts so you can get the seat where you need it.

I am doing the same for a Mohawk Scamp. I am leaving the seat in my Supernova.

saddle
I love the Mohawk system- I put it in all my WW boats.

A couple of tips:

After you put the saddle in the exact spot you want it, without glue, tape a few wood blocks around it, touching the saddle.

These will act as a guide to put the saddle exactly where you want after you’ve applied your contact cement. (Remember- you only get one shot with contact cement!)

does the super nova have a rounded bottom, or a flat bottom? If it has a rounded bottom, you should round the bottom of the saddle a bit to fit (use dragonskin). Otherwise, the flat bottom of the saddle won’t make complete contact with the bottom of the boat.

I also like to add a saddle thwart for extra security.

Make sure the contact cement is completely dry before you attach saddle and d-rings. the solvent in the glue melts royalex!