Overwhelmed by choices...

-- Last Updated: May-11-16 8:05 AM EST --

Hello,

Seeking to upgrade from a basic recreational kayak to a light touring boat. I am an advanced novice, and am interested in day touring on lakes, large rivers, and protected coastline. I am 5' 10" and 175 lbs. Top contenders are (1) Elie Strait 140 XE; (2) Riot Edge 14.5 LV; (3) Necky Elaho or Eliza; (4) Eddyline Merlin LT; (5) Venture Kayaks Islay Light Touring Kayak; (6) Swift Bering Sea. Others to consider? I like well-made things that last, work well, will and serve my growing skill and interest in the sport. Please share your ideas.

Brian

Location?

– Last Updated: May-11-16 12:43 PM EST –

Never mind, I just saw NH in your profile.

Wish I saw this post a couple of days ago as I passed through the NH coastal area.

I could have dropped off a 2015 Demo Islay 14LV or P&H Scorpio MV on the way through.

See you on the water,
Marshall
The River Connection, Inc.
Hyde Park, NY
www.the-river-connection.com
fb.me/theriverconnection

– Last Updated: May-11-16 10:48 AM EST –

My suggestion is that you use the Iternet to look at what else is out there. It sounds like you might be considering a high end boat and in that regard, you should take a look at what NC Kayaks is offering in their Spring Sale--nckayaks.com.

I would also suggest that you check out Current Designs boats and even Stellar.

Much of this will depend on your location and the dealers you have access to. However, as is the case with NC Kayaks, they ship boats anywhere.

For the uses you specified, I would strongly suggest that you consider well built real sea kayaks and that doesn't mean they necessarily would have to break the bank. There are some very well built and capable sea kayaks made of polyethylene, or for just a little more you can have a great composite (fiberglass) boat from NC Kayaks.