PA Kayak Sails: does size really matter?

I’m planning on buying a Pacific Action Sail for one of my kayaks. As I have no previous experience sailing, I was wondering what the size differences were for: amount of wind, stability of the kayak, maybe? I’m going to put it on a Necky Narpa touring kayak, 16’ long w/ a rudder and will be using it on the NC coast and around the mouth of the Neuse River. What size is best for me? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

-B

I think I have the larger size
I don’t think I’d want anything bigger. I’ve had mine going at a good clip several times and it’s a blast. Here’s mine…

http://outdoors.webshots.com/album/549410980UxKxcV

Those photo’s were taken a few years agp, and I’ve made some changes in my rigging that I don’t have photo’s of yet. Mini cell base for the sail, fixed clam cleats, and will soon change the sheet lines to slighter thicker ones.

Andy

I’d start with the smaller size
The small size can be used in just about any winds you would feel comfortable kayaking in. If I wanted a larger size I’d upgrade to the balog rig and get a lee board and outriggers too.

Smaller size
I use one from time to time on an 18’ Impex Force 4. Works great! For beam winds the sail does not torque the hull particularly much but it does require using you hip flexors to keep an even keel so the larger size would be more work in beam winds.

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

www.hudsonriverpaddler.org

remember one thing
It’s kinda like starting paddling in a river and letting the current carry you down stream first. You have to get back to where you started.

Similiar with a down wind sail, it won’t sail upwind and you’ll have to paddle back against the wind, so use care on how far you sail. Might be better paddling upwind first then sailing back.

Or…get a sailing rig that allows sailing upwind.

Bill H.

expereince with two sizes…