Paddle Choice Question

Hello,

Last weekend I took my new Old Town Pack canoe out for the first time. I replaced my Mad River Independence with the Pack because I wanted something better to fish out of. The Pack is nice and short and has more width than my old boat.

One difference that I noticed right away was the Pack doesn’t paddle as as straight as the Mad River did. I’m not a design expert but it must be because of the shape that makes it want to turn easier. This is a feature that I had wanted anyway.

My question is about paddle choice. I have a bent shaft paddle now, and I have to switch sides constantly. Would a kayak paddle make more sense with the shorter canoe? Would it be easier to negotiate a kayak paddle than having to reverse grip every stroke with my bent shaft paddle?

My dimensions are 6’ tall with about a 35" sleeve. My canoe is 32" wide. If a kayak paddle is the way to go, how do you measure up for one?

This is really all I am asking about. Everything else is great. This smaller boat can go just about anywhere, and I am happy with it.

Thanks in advance for any advice, Eric

Old Town Pack
I have an Old Town Pack also and know exactly what you’re talking about. One hard stroke with my paddle and I can turn the boat 45 degrees. You’ll find that less aggressive paddling, with allot of paddle dragging will keep you going fairly straight. There is allot of wasted energy there!

I’ve ordered, and am currently awaiting delivery of a new FoxWorx 260mm KS kayak paddle. Fox makes it longer just for Solo use in a canoe like ours. I’m 6 feet tall, so a 260mm in a 32"wide canoe should be perfect. Fox also makes a 280mm KS, and will make any length you ask them as long as you’re willing to wait a bit.

A double bladed paddle in that boat is just wahat the Dr ordered!!

Old Town Pack