paddle durability

I’ve heard that carbon fiber paddle blades tend to get beat up pretty easily. Does anyone have experience with this issue? I’m looking at a werner ikelos vs. a lendal. Any opinions on my selections? Thanks for your help. -Bryan

they all get beat up eventually
i’m not a composites expert and there probably are some on this site, but they will chip if you ding them hard on the edges. otherwise it will be more a slow wearing down. both those brands are so well made you won’t have to worry much. of course most people who buy those paddles take care not to grind on them too much. if you want the ultra light weight and performance of carbon blades there is a natural trade off. if you can’t live with the downside consider Aqua-bound carbon reinforced blades in the new ‘Ray’ series. very light and very tough at a reasonable cost.

they should be fine…
Unless you’re doing heavy rock gardening, there is nothing you should really be doing while sea kayaking that would damage those paddles. The Lendels are nice but I love the Ikelos. Werner also has great customer service. I use a full carbon Werner Sidekick when running whitewater and although I do get some chipping running boney midwestern rivers, it’s not a big deal. Also when I snapped off a blade running a particularly steep and shallow drop, Werner fixed it up and sent it back to me good as new. I also have carbon Aquabound whitewater and sea kayaking paddles for when I really want to beat the paddles around. If I didn’t paddle with a Greenland paddle, the Ikelos (straight shaft) would be my first choice for a Euro paddle.

My Experience
I use a lightning paddle with carbon blades. I regularly use it during entrys and exits where many times it is on a concrete ramp or rocks while being used as a lever. I have scraped it a couple of time on the boat and a few time on rocks or oysters on the bottom. So far I have seen no evidence of damage.

happy paddling,

Mark

TWACK! TWACK! TWACK!!!