Paddle float for a Greenland paddle

I’m a novice, just gearing up for my first boat. I’m wondering what kind of paddle float, if any, to get for a Greenland paddle. Would a standard inflatable float, like a Gaia, stay on a Greenland paddle?

Paul S.

you dont need one
If you have a greenland paddle you should just learn to roll. That is the best paddle for rolling anyway. BUT a dual chamber float would hold on the best.

When you get a float use it to learn how to roll. Paddle floats only work in calm conditions.

Agreed

– Last Updated: Jul-04-06 8:46 AM EST –

I read the back post on paddle float, need one or not. It's been my experience so far that I can barely do a self rescue on flat water. With a paddle partner I would raft up. Solo I would stay within swiming and towing distance to shore.

But for learning to roll, and maybe someday as some sort of outrigger or sponson for an emergency response to something, I was considering one. About 5th on my shopping list.

Paul S.

GP’s and Paddle Floats
GP’s do make rolling easier but I also believe there is a place for a paddle float. Not only in self rescues, but as an aid in learning to roll by attaching the float to your paddle. This technique will allow you to practice and refine your hip-snap, which is one of the prime factors in sucessfully learning the rolling technique.

Any ol’ float
Without getting into a major discussion of whether or not paddle floats are worthwhile (let’s just say I always carry one tucked behind the seat), any float will work with a GP. You may have to wrap the open end completely around the paddle before clipping it together so the paddle doesn’t slip out.

I like a 2 chamber float – I only use one but backup is good.

BTW, I think everyone who carries a paddle float should practice with it periodically. It’s easy to neglect when there are more fun things like rolls to do. But my first one this year, I neglected a couple of things that would have made it a lot more efficicent.

Wildy